Tuesday, September 30, 2008

Watch out, she bites!

Our son is the calm laid-back type. He's never caused us much trouble and there's not much that bothers him.

We were both hoping when our second was born she would be a little bit of a spitfire with some attitude.

WHAT WERE WE THINKING?

We love her personality and she's very entertaining, but we are paying for it big time!

She's biting at daycare. They've tried everything within their means to get her to stop. Sometimes I am signing up to 3 incident reports a day. We are happy with our daycare, but I don't think they are happy with us and I'm sure the parents in her class hate us! Last week they requested one of us be available to come spank her when she bites. (Yes we believe in spanking and so does the daycare owner, however, she doesn't spank other people's kids because of laws, etc.)

We tried putting it off and ignoring their request, but yesterday I realized we had to do something or we were going to get kicked out of daycare. There aren't many good daycares around here so, DH and I talked last night and decided today would be a good day to start. He works a minute from the daycare and he didn't have anything going today. So we sat her down and told her from now on when she bites at daycare daddy was going to come spank her in front of her friends. She cried and said no biting, so we knew she understood.

I left her at 7:30 this morning. At 8:30 DH called and said he was heading over there because she had bit already. My stomach sank and I wanted to cry. They put her in time out and when DH walked in she got excited yelling daddy, daddy. She thought he was there to pick her up. He explained to her that when she bites he has to come spank her so he did and then he left her screaming mad.

I want to cry even more after hearing the story. I don't know if I feel more sorry for DH or sissy. But I know she has to learn.

After all this could be a real problem when she starts dating, unless he's into that sort of thing.....LOL!

Seriously, anyone out there have a solution?

Saturday, September 27, 2008

Spoiled Brat

I am so aggravated at Bubba right now! I can't believe we've raised our son to be such a spoiled brat!! He's been begging to go bowling. Tonight he has a friend spending the night so we told them we would take them out to eat and bowling.

We felt like we were doing something special for them, but can he appreciate it? No! After we finished bowling he was mad that I beat them (I let them add their score together against mine) and then he started pouting because we wouldn't let them bowl another game. It was past 10:30 and Sissy was sleepy.

Then he starts in saying he would have rather stayed at home. Seriously, did you just say that? We just spent over $60 taking you and your friend out to eat and bowling and you don't appreciate any of it?

Uuughhhhh. I just want to scream!

Wednesday, September 24, 2008

Writers Workshop from Mama's Losin' It

Writing prompt: Write a letter to someone you miss greatly.

I am writing to my mom. She passed away three and a half years ago after a very long battle with rheumatoid arthritis that destroyed many of her joints and completely disabled her in the end.

Mom,

I still miss you and think of you daily. So much has happened since you passed away. Where should I start?

We had a baby girl. I know you won't believe it, but I swear I'm not pulling your leg. She's two. DH and I often talk about how much you would love her. She's quite the little spitfire, which by the way reminds me of you. She's blonde with big blue eyes and will talk your ears off when she gets fired up.

Bubba is really growing up. Can you believe your first grand baby is ten already? By next year he'll be as tall as me. He's already passed me in shoe size. He's still well behaved and gets really good grades. He plays football and loves it. He also plays soccer and basketball too, but football is definitely his favorite.

Dad's doing great. I never in my life thought we would be so close. He's been my rock, and I hope I've been his. I've tried my best. He bought a boat so he stays busy fishing, gardening, and taking care of that big yard.

I want you to know I love you and appreciate everything you did for me growing up. I realize now how hard it was and how much you suffered. I wish you were here. I have so much I would love to say, but I can't because it still hurts too much. I hope I make you proud.

Love,
Your baby girl

P. S. Mama Kat's giving away a vacuum cleaner. Stop by and give her a shout out. She'll love the attention. :-)
http://mamakatslosinit.blogspot.com/2008/09/mama-kats-hoover-give-away-extravaganza.html



Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Has anyone seen my shoe?

I'm notorious for thinking about getting things together for the next morning, but not doing it. I always think I'll get up a little early so I can iron and fix my lunch, but it never happens.

This morning the alarm goes off and what do I do? Hit snooze, not once, not twice, but three times. So, by the time I get up I have no extra time to do anything beyond the normal getting ready routine. I knew I should have ironed and fixed my lunch last night. Crap!

Things were going pretty good. I picked out an outfit that didn't need ironing and got dressed. Then decided I would just go out for lunch. Yes, I'm going to be on time!

Well, I always wear the same pair of brown shoes with this outfit, but I could only find one of the shoes. By this time I can hear sissy in her room crying wanting me to come get her and DH is in the shower so I know the crying is not going to stop until I go get her. I'm running around like a crazy woman looking for my other shoe.

I looked in the closet, under the bed, in the living room, in the kitchen, in both bathrooms, and in Bubba's room. No shoe to be found and sissy is getting louder and louder, I'm getting even more frustrated and now I'm going to be late for work. I ran in the bathroom and shouted at DH "I can't find my other shoe and I'm past frustrated"! (Like it's his fault)

So, DH gets out of the shower to help me find my other shoe. (Thanks honey!) I go get sissy and get her dressed and ready to go, while DH searched the house and he couldn't find the other shoe either. Where did that shoe go? We don't have any pets inside our house so I know the dog didn't hide it. I always take my shoes off at the same place and all my other shoes were lined up right in that place, all matching pairs. I even asked sissy if she knew where it was and she just kept repeating "momma where's your shoe?"

I finally gave up and put on a newer, uncomfortable, pair of brown shoes. Yes they are cute, but they are not broke in and comfy like the pair I wanted to wear. Now I'm at work thinking about that stupid missing shoe and not getting anything done. Not to mention, my feet hurt. ( I know whaaaaa, whine a little why don't ya)

When will I learn? If I had just taken a few minutes last night this would have all been avoided and my feet would be comfy and happy in my favorite pair of brown shoes. At least I think they would, that shoe has to be in the house somewhere, right?

Monday, September 22, 2008

Growing up is hard (for Mom!)

(Throwing on the brakes)

What happened to my baby boy? Where in the heck did you hide him? I know this child can not be him. I want my baby back!

Don't get me wrong. I still love him as much as ever and in some ways I'm glad he's growing up and getting some independence. But he's still my baby. I'm not ready.

In the mornings when he's in the shower I'm not allowed to even go in the bathroom for ANY reason. He's behind a shower curtain for goodness sake. It's not like I'm going to pull it back and peek! Just last year he was nakie all the time running around the house with not a care in the world.

At night when it's time to do homework he goes in his room and does it on his own. Last year we practically did it for him.

Suddenly he knows it all and we are S-T-U-P-I-D.

At the store this weekend he wanted shower gel and deodorant. You want what? WHY?

I'm not ready for this, can I protest???!!!

Saturday, September 20, 2008

Confession.

Today while I cleaned the house I let sissy (she's 2) play with a bag of dum dum suckers.

Every night this week as soon as I got home from work we had to leave to go somewhere. I have not done anything around the house. So today I knew I had to clean.

She was completely content and I was getting the house clean! When does that ever happen with a 2 year old?

Just as I was finishing cleaning sissy said, "momma look". She had a big smile on her face and I could tell she was so proud. I went to the table where she had been and she had taken the wrapper off and licked every. single. one.

I didn't know whether to be proud or scould her. But, since I did let her have them I smiled and said "wow sissy that's great".

So, now we know I'm not getting the mother of the year award! Oh well, she survived and the house is clean.

What's your confession when it comes to your kids?

P.S. When Bubba (he's 10) discovers all the suckers are gone I'm gonna be toast. LOL!!

Thursday, September 18, 2008

Writers Workshop

Writing prompt: Do you have reoccurring dreams? What are they about?

I have several reoccurring dreams and through the years they have never changed.

First dream:

I am a young child and I'm walking alone in the woods. It's late in the day and the sun is going down.

I come up to this big wall with a big wooden door (BIG, like a drawbridge door). The wall is covered in dark green ivy. I know the door leads into a castle and I want to go in soooo bad.

But, when I get to the door I can see that the wall is covered in snakes! Snakes are everywhere. I am so terrified. I don't turn and run I just stand there and watch the snakes.

I want to go in that door, but I can't figure out how.

That's always how the dream ends.

I seriously must get in that door one day!

Second dream:

I'm driving a car, but I am in the backseat.

I can't control the car.

It's just me and I don't know why I'm in the backseat. I try to climb into the front seat but I can't.

Sometimes I'll make it into the passenger seat, but the car is always out of control.

Third dream:

It's an emergency and I am trying to dial a phone number.

I CAN'T DIAL IT!

I can't dial it right. I try, and retry, but I keep dialing the wrong numbers.

I know the number and can say it in my head, but my fingers will not dial it.



The last two dreams I can kind of explain. I have serious control issues and I know it. And I ALWAYS panic in ANY emergency situation. But that first dream, I have no explanation for it.

Saturday, September 13, 2008

Do I really want to give this blogging thing a try?

I've been reading a lot of blogs.

I love to write.

My problem is, do I want to be known or unknown?

If I stay unknown I can say whatever I want, but I can't post pictures of my beautiful children.

If I become known I have to worry about hurting someones feelings, and I have to worry about the creeps creeping around. I could have two separate blogs, but who has the freaking time?

Hmmmm, maybe I'll give it some more thought. What do you think, and what are your experiences?